New dojo!

Yesterday, Aikido Tenshindo Wellington dojo moved to a new location at 2 Bell Road, Brooklyn. I have been a part of this Aikido family for over 3 years now, and I admit it was really hard having to move location.

IMG_7645

The dojo at the old location

This was the second relocation I was a part of within 6 months, with Combat Room moving to a new location in October last year. Saying goodbye was never easy, but it was heart-warming to see so many club members showed up and helped with the move. There were so many of us that the whole move was done in under 2 hours. I haven’t seen a lot of them for awhile too because many of us come to class at different times of the day and week, so there are many members who I only get to meet at seminars, gradings, or club’s social functions.

The move itself was a lot more of a ritual for me. I wanted to help out, and I also needed to do it. It was my way of saying thank you and goodbye to the space that had provided us roof for us to train under, then saying hello to the new space that would let us continue our training, and I’m going through it together with everyone else.

Our new space is very spacious, it’s also a home to a couple of other clubs. We explored the space yesterday, we found a hidden staircase to the attic (by hidden I meant easy to miss), and quite frankly the attic was pretty awesome and have an amazing view. It looks like we’d be on a cleaning mission sometimes in the next week to spruce up our new home.

New beginning at the new place, as much as I’m sad to leave the old place, I’m excited to train at the new dojo! I feel blessed to be a part of this Aikido family.

12656281_10208357261346973_158080328_o

Aikido Tenshindo Wellington family

2 Responses to New dojo!

  1. Les says:

    It looks great!

Leave a Reply

