Star Wars Metal Earth Model: AT-AT build

I actually bought this awhile back, but I never had the chance to actually put them together until a few days ago. I thought they look really cool when on display in store and it would be a good little project to do on  a rainy day or when I have some down time.

I haven’t worked with small objects for a very long time now, and I have to admit that I did struggle a little bit when putting this together. The parts are pretty flimsy on some bits, I managed to break one of the face plates when attaching it to another part, and I wasn’t even applying that much pressure. Fortunately I managed to keep it in place once all parts are put together. Then I also ALMOST break one of the body plates when attaching it to the rest of the body. It seems like I wasn’t the only person with this problem though, some reviews stated that something like this happened to them. Some parts are hard to fold or won’t fold properly. Luckily I only had 2 parts that had this problem. Most of the problems weren’t really visible once the model are done though, but you can probably see one of them on one of the photos below. The back end body panel wasn’t closed properly (the tab wasn’t in place), I left it there because I struggled to close this bit, and this back panel was so close to breaking, so I decided to leave it the way it is.

Folding the tabs was also a bit harder than I thought especially due to the size of the model. I tried tweezers, pliers, and also my finger nails (which wasn’t a good idea), but in the end the flat end of a skewer saved the day (and my nails). It was small enough to get into tight spaces, and it was easy enough to move around.

Other than those little problems I encountered, putting this little model together was a lot of fun, and I’m looking forward to building my next one. Making the time-lapse video, on the other hand, gave me more challenge than I thought it would be. It was the first time I videoed myself using that sort of setup, and it took me awhile to remember that I need to work within the frame, this got pretty challenging when I need to really look closely at what I was doing, and I head-bumped the camera several times because I forgot that there was a camera right by my head.

So here is the video of the build:

2 Responses to Star Wars Metal Earth Model: AT-AT build

  1. Pingback: Star Wars Metal Earth Model: R2D2 build | Ditha's Creative Journey

  2. Pingback: Back at work in 2016 – Silver Duck

Leave a Reply

