Rex the Red Dragon

This is a late post. I was meant to post this during the holidays, but it turned out that I also took a long holiday from the online world :)

Before I go any further, let me say Gong Xi Fa Cai! Happy Chinese New Year! May the year of the Horse bring prosperity, good health and happiness!

Now onto this dragon… sometimes before I picked up the materials to make this, I had a sudden urge to sculpt, but at the time I was so busy with work that I didn’t have the time to. So when I did, I made this little guy. I decided to name him Rex since I thought he suits the name. I found the tutorial online, and I hope to make more in the future. The experience was very therapeutic and I love the result :) This was my first attempt to sculpt any creatures, so I did find it a little challenging at first, especially when the clay was much firmer than what I’m used to.

I used polymer clay – Premo Sculpey for this project.

Btw, sorry if some of the photos didn’t come up that good… I used it for progress purposes.

All images are © copyright of the photographer. You may NOT replicate, manipulate, modify, or use these images in any way without permission.

Phase 1: the body and the head. I used aluminium foil for the skeletal structure of the body

Rex1

Phase 2:  The wings and thighs. The wings were half baked before being attached to the body. By this point I’ve added a few more spikes to the spine, and also I was having trouble keeping finger prints and dust off the clay.

Rex2

Phase 3: Add the feet. I’ve also realized I put the thighs on the wrong spot, so I’ve changed it in this shot.

Rex3

Phase 4: add the front legs (I had a bit of trouble with the proportion, but eventually got there), and it’s now ready to bake.

Rex4

Phase 5: Out of the oven. He looked so matted compared to earlier, but that’ll be fixed later. For now I’m leaving him be to cool down.

Rex5

Phase 6: Varnishing! I applied two coats, 24 hours apart on this guy, well… three coats if you include the little spaces I’ve missed. And here’s how it looked like just minutes after the varnish went on. Yes, he looked rather wet.

Rex6

Phase 7: Final product! Varnish has dried completely and now he’s sitting proudly on his spot :)

Rex7

2 Responses to Rex the Red Dragon

  1. Awwwww – he’s lovely! How clever you are.

Leave a Reply

