Honour 4 (2 November 2013) Muay Thai Fights

414922-207780-14

Source: RAZOR Promotion Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/RazorPromotions)

I wasn’t sure if I was able to make it to this event, so I’m really glad that I did! I had a really good time there, supporting our Combat Room friends who were fighting on the night. I went there with 3 of my friends who also go to Combat Room. It was gorgeous day for a drive too.

I have to be honest, seeing the fights actually made me miss competing. Those were good fights, and some had kept me gripping at the edge of my seat or cringing or wow-ing, and of course shouting support to our friends. They did very well!

Sorry it took awhile to post these photos, it is getting to that time of the year when work gets really busy and I would be missing quite a bit of training during these times.

I admit, these are not my best photos – please see notes at the bottom of the page. Photos below are separated into each match in order of the program. Click to enlarge.

All images are © copyright of the photographer. You may NOT replicate, manipulate, modify, or use these images in any way without permission.

Ants (FTA) vs Jake Nash (Jai)

Claire “Shorty” Rowat (Alpha) vs Kaysey Warner (Combat Room)

Mike Williams (Alpha) vs Rongoa Richmond (Ignite)

Gerard Roach (Alpha) vs Jeff Brewer (Ignite)

Brook Sutton (Sitboontham) vs PJ Daniell (Combat Room)

Michael “Radla” Radford (Alpha) vs Carlin Hurley (Thai Boxing Studio)

Tangi Waikari (Alpha) vs Melissa Seiuli (Arch Angels)

1st 4 Man Fight

2nd 4 Man Fight

Joey Terei (SMAC) vs Richard Henderson (Combat Room)

Joe Kelly (Alpha) vs Manuel Mancini (Jai)

Dominic Tyler (Combat Room) vs Alexi Serepisos (Jai)

$1000 Honour 4 Man Final

WMC North Island Welterweight Title: Jesse Mika (SMAC) vs Adam Manisy (Arch Angels)

WMC New Zealand Light Middle Weight Title: “Hazardous” Henare Redden (Alpha) vs James “GK” Oconnor (MTI)

Note: So this was my first time shooting ring fights, and I wasn’t sure what to expect. I really should have researched on camera settings and tips and tricks on shooting in this kind of condition. Though a lot of the problems I encountered could only be solved by being ring side (these photos were taken by 18-200mm zoom lens). It was a lot different to the kind of fights I was used to, where it would happen in broad daylight with all room lights on, instead of just having the ring lights, and the matches would happen on a matt instead of on a ring, so I wouldn’t have ropes to take into account. I kinda winged it in the end and hoped for the best, due to where I was sitting, I spent most of the time on full zoom (but I actually got a closer view to the fight than when I was viewing it without the camera). Ideally I’d be shooting with my 50mm prime wide open and have the shutter speed as high as possible to get that “freeze” photo effect, but that wouldn’t be possible unless I was ring side, and due to where I sat, I had to settle for my zoom lens. I’ve cranked it wide open, but couldn’t get the shutter speed to go as fast as I’d like it to be, I’ve raised the ISO as well, though after seeing the photos on the computer, I realized that I could have cranked the ISO further. Another big problem I came across was focus point. I found that I was adjusting the focus points quite frequently during the fights, mainly because the rope was on the foreground, and a lot of my photos ended up focusing on the rope instead of the fighters (somehow this still happened even when I set the focus point on the people inside the ring instead of the rope!), but again, I don’t see a way around it other than having to be ring side. But hey, everything is a learning curve, I hope to get better results next time, at least for now, I gave it a try.

Leave a Reply

