Day 1 Auckland Armageddon Expo 2013 (the Trip and Preview Night)

The trip from Wellington – Auckland

We left a little later than intended, but that was anticipated. I didn’t get to sleep until about 1am the night before (it took longer to do housework and pack), but we’re pretty used to lack of sleep due to the nature of our jobs and, we hit the road at 6.40am on Friday 25th October 2013 (initially we planned to leave at 6am).

Photo 25-10-13 9 12 09 Photo 25-10-13 9 40 16 Photo 25-10-13 9 11 05 Photo 25-10-13 9 10 45

As planned, we stopped by at Mothered Goose in Bulls for coffee and a little snack. Wow! What a nice place! It’s cozy, lovely, and very cute. They sell jewellery and trinkets there too. Unfortunately for me, they didn’t have anything that’s safe for me to eat (food intolerances) off the cabinet, but they could make them accordingly if I order, if we were stopping long I would have loved to try. The staff were very lovely and accommodating with my pain in the butt enquiries regarding ingredients. I could actually have them if I take my supplements, but I really didn’t feel like taking them for the first meal of the day, so I settled for a muesli bar as we made our way up again.

Photo 25-10-13 12 17 31 Photo 25-10-13 11 57 30

Around lunch time we stopped by at Replete in Taupo, it’s a little cafe with a store attached to it. Very busy when we came in, and the food selection was great. I only had a brief look at the shop but it looked great, definitely something that would occupy me for a good half hour or so, and guess what? They stock Shoc Chocolate!! Awesome!

Photo 25-10-13 15 34 28

The trip from Taupo onwards was a bit uneventful until we were getting closer to Auckland and we could see the dense traffic going out from Auckland, and we were glad we weren’t in the middle of it. By 1600 we managed to get ourselves lost on our way to the hotel, Auckland mad long weekend traffic really wasn’t helping. Luckily my partner found a way around the traffic and got us to the hotel not long after.

Armageddon Expo – Preview Night

After checking in and got a few things from Newmarket we headed to the venue. It was raining by then, and there was a little line outside already. After joining in the line, it soon became apparent that they weren’t as organized as the past events I’ve been to. Granted, this was my first time in Auckland venue, but I remembered Wellington to be pretty well organized at the Stadium. Crowd management could use some improvement, perhaps it could have gone better if the door across from the access to the main auditorium could be closed for the first 15 minutes of the opening or something (it’s just a suggestion, I’m not sure if this is doable or not), so it would force people to move to the other doors instead of jamming the small passage before the doors open, especially when there were a lot more people trying to get in from the ticketing area. Overall, as far as kick off went, I’ve had better ones, but I’d still say that the event staff and organizers have done a good job in doing everything they could to make sure the kick off went as well as it did.

Photo 29-10-13 9 31 33

I made my way to the info desk to get our VIP passes before we had a look around. I also met my friend I met at the last Armageddon Expo in Wellington, Christie and was introduced to Lisa. My first order of business after we got our passes was to look for Reel Collectibles stand. These lovely people sell Dunny!!! Ever since Pop Up closed down in Wellington it’s a lot harder getting my Dunny fix. So I was so happy to find them at the stand the last time I came to Armageddon. I bought 4 of them and I managed to score my very first ?/?? Dunny! Awesome! I also made a stop at Madman stand and got myself some movies. Finally got Halo: Forward Unto Dawn and Mass Effect: Paragon Lost on Bluray, and I’m pretty happy with the purchase.

Photo 25-10-13 22 56 45 Photo 26-10-13 0 23 18

Above are pictures of the Dunny figures I purchased. The far right one is my very first ?/?? Dunny. I’m very happy with them.

Photo 25-10-13 19 27 37

We then made way to Stage 2 upstairs to attend “An Evening with Tony Amendola” (to see the photos of this session, please go to my previous entry). It was something new and something that I hope the organizers would do again in the future. It was very relaxing and very suitable for the preview night. I thoroughly enjoyed the session, we had a great time listening to Tony reading and telling stories, he also sang a little and got us singing with him a little bit. I thought it was a very nice.

After the session we went downstairs to have a look around again, the gaming sections looked amazing!! I could imagine it would be super busy during the event as it was already busy on the preview night.

Photo 25-10-13 18 42 34 Photo 25-10-13 20 29 45 Photo 25-10-13 20 30 32 IMG_3223 IMG_3225 IMG_3227 IMG_3228 IMG_3229 IMG_3231 IMG_3233 IMG_3236

Before we knew it, it was getting late, so we decided to go and grab dinner. We had a lovely time at the preview night, and were very excited for the Saturday :)

I will try to get the rest of the posts done as soon as possible. I didn’t realize that I’ve taken so many pictures, so I’m filtering through them and choosing the best ones. My photography skill is a little rusty since I haven’t used it to shoot events and people for awhile now. I found it to be good practice to do it again, and it was also a lot of fun. Keep checking back for the rest of the Armageddon Expo (Auckland) entries. Thank you.

All images are © copyright of the photographer. You may NOT replicate, manipulate, modify, or use these images in any way without permission.

Feel free to contact me, either by using the contact form on the bottom of Home page or Blog page, otherwise feel free to leave me a message on a post or tweet me (@bona92).

One Response to Day 1 Auckland Armageddon Expo 2013 (the Trip and Preview Night)

  1. Pingback: Day 2 Auckland Armageddon Expo 2013 | Ditha's Creative Journey

Leave a Reply

